db.bprdev.insertOne(blogPost)

8/14/17

About two weeks ago I got my first intro to MongoDB. I picked up on it really fast. My past SQL experienced helped. Even though it is different commands, and I’m dealing with an object instead of tables, it’s still the same concept. So I cruised through my MongoDB school lessons with out any issues. I like working with MongoDB a lot. I’ve always liked working with databases actually. Many years ago I took a class that was supposed to prepare me for the MCDBA cert, but I never ended up taking the test. But anyways, back to school stuff.

Then I learned how to deploy to Heroku with a DbaaS via mLab. It’s fun to think about how far I’ve come in these past five months. If I read that first sentence five months ago I wouldn’t have any idea what it all meant. But now it’s no big deal. Heroku and mLab are cloud based services for developers to deploy their apps and data to. And DbaaS stands for Database As A Service, AKA a cloud based database.

So after that, I moved on to Mongoose and learning how to create schemas, and data models.

While trying to juggle school and work, I also managed to go to a few JavaScript meetups. It’s been a fun and rewarding experience! I met a few devs in the area and another dev who works remotely. He was just passing through Seattle and heard about a JS meet so he stopped by. I’ve learned way more than I expected, just by chatting with fellow devs in the community. I am generally a shy person, but when it comes to something I enjoy and something that I am very interested in, I can get pretty talkative. I had a good time, but I don’t expect to go to a lot more meetups in the near future. I have a lot of school work to catch up on. When it comes time to start looking for work I will definitely get out to more meetups.

Today, I finished my last Mongoose lesson. I’m moving on to authentication and access control using JWT now. It’s about 9:30pm right now. I’m gonna hit the books for another couple hours and then crash, and then wake up and hit it again. Honestly, I dont even know what JWT stands for or what it’s about. I know nothing about it. I’m just glancing over at my lesson itinerary as I type this. So hopefully in my next post I’ll be able to explain what it is.

Leave a Reply

