HTML and CSS Progress

1/26/17

Since my last entry I’ve been perusing CodeSchool.com and Codecademy.com. I’ve been taking advantage of the free lessons they offer. I’m still brushing up on HTML and CSS basics. I am already familiar with a majority of the material in the lessons. As far as HTML goes, I feel comfortable coding on my own. I still have to look up specific syntax or an exact element name sometimes though. The only new material that stands out in my mind is a CSS3 value to control opacity, called rgba(). The “A” stands for Alpha. I learned that it’s only available for CSS v3 and it can only be used with RGB colors values. Other than that I don’t recall learning anything new yet.

Soon, I will run out of free lessons available from those two site, so I’ll need to pick one to pay for. I’m also paying a monthly subscription for CourseRA.com. I’ve gone through all of the HTML and CSS lessons there. The next lesson dives into JavaScript. I was holding off on starting that because I want to get more HTML and CSS practice under my belt. I’ll probably get started on that this week though.

My focus is improving. When I started this journey it was difficult to get in the mood to code when I got home from work. I had to make myself do it. Now, I find myself thinking about coding when I am away from a computer and I also put in a little practice while at work when I get some spare time. It’s getting much easier to practice coding when I get home from work as well.

I’ve been starting to watch coding videos too. I think I’ll start picking a couple that I liked to share in my posts.

